Overheard: The Coffee and the Bible

100_0761coffeeheart-e1420056506655

(Setting: A shadowed room with the first rays of morning light breaking through the drawn curtains.)

Coffee to the Holy Bible (smirking): Hate to say this, pal, but she never skips me for youIt’s true love, dontcha know?

Holy Bible to Coffee: Love? “Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things” (1 Cor. 3:17). Love is what my pages are all about.

Coffee: Just words, old man, not espresso. They can’t compete with my caffeine.

Bible: She no longer believes my pages contain mere words. She knows that “all Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work” (2 Tim. 3:16).

Coffee: She’s still skipping you for me, buddy. Don’t worry. It’s the weekend and she’s ready to celebrate good times, not have a quiet time! Hey! Too bad you can’t ban me, eh?

Bible: I have nothing against you. “For everything created by God is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving, for it is made holy by the word of God and prayer” (1 Tim. 4:5).

Coffee: You’re starting to make me feel guilty, pal. I’m sure she’ll feel plenty guilty when she realizes what she’s done.

Bible: I don’t think so. She’s been devoted to studying me too long and knows the One who authored me too well for that. There is only grace. She has not forgotten the words she sings to Him: “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path” (Ps. 119:105).

Coffee: You think? She’s already in a hurry to …. (disappearing with a loud slurp.)

Bible: … to reach for me? It’s not just quiet time, my friend, it’s good times. “Blessed are the people who know the festal shout, who walk, O LORD, in the light of your face, who exult in your name all the day and in your righteousness are exalted” (Ps. 89:15-16).

woman-bible-reader

8 thoughts on “Overheard: The Coffee and the Bible

    1. Glad you liked it! It continues to surprise me how lingering in God’s Word and the good news that is the gospel pumps me up day or night far more than a cuppa brew ever did. (Which is also good news since these days caffeine – for health reasons – is off the menu!)

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

