Roots Deep in Tells

220px-Harzhorn_Grabungsschnitt_von_unten_1

I’ll show you my roots
If you show me yours
First – that is to say – don’t
Misunderstand me but if you dig
Deep enough you might find circumstantially
A skeleton or two, depending –
My pride has nothing to do with it –
On the rottenness of the archaeology
Of the thing, dead bones notwithstanding
Just as it’s pure speculation that I dyed
My hair this color just to impress you
After all I have to live with myself
And that’s just desserts so don’t
Go judging people – that is to say, me –
Based on the color of my roots.


DPChallenge: “Digging for Roots”
5 thoughts on “Roots Deep in Tells

Share your thoughts!

